EerieCon Ten -- Celebrating Fantasy, 
                  Horror, and Science Fiction

Science Fiction Conventions WebRing
Join Now | Ring Hub | Random
<< Prev | Next >>


Nancy Kress

Nancy Kress is the author of twenty-three books: three fantasy novels, eleven SF novels, two thrillers, three collections of short stories, one YA novel, and three books on writing fiction. She is perhaps best known for the Sleepless trilogy that began with Beggars in Spain. The novel was based on a Nebula- and Hugo-winning novella of the same name; the series then continued with Beggars and Choosers and Beggars Ride. The trilogy explores questions of genetic engineering, social structure, and what society’s "haves" owe its "have-nots." Kress's most recent books are Crossfire, Crucible, and Characters, Emotion, and Viewpoint.

Kress's short fiction has appeared in all the usual places. She has won three Nebulas: in 1985 for "Out Of All Them Bright Stars,” in 1991 for the novella version of "Beggars In Spain" (which also won a Hugo), and in 1998 for "The Flowers of Aulit Prison." She also won the John W. Campbell Memoria Award for her novel Probability Space. Her work has been translated into Swedish, Greek, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Portuguese, Polish, Croatian, Lithuanian, Romanian, Japanese, and Russian.

She is the bi-monthly "Fiction" columnist for Writer's Digest magazine. She lives in Rochester, NY.

Official Website